The AAFD will hold a conference on liberal solutions to Middle East problems in Amman in April 2014. It will issue a manuscript on the basics of liberalism in the Middle East. All political parties’ members in the AAFD will participate and it is expected that these parties will incorporate the manuscript in their programs. 

The Union of Arab Youth for Freedom & Democracy is organizing its second General Assembly (GA) to be held in Morocco, in April. The GA is essential in the process to draft the Union’s final manifesto and electing the Union’s President and his executive office. The GA is held side by side with a conference on illegal immigration and its impact on the Arab & European societies.

Ahmed El Rashwany, member of the foreign relations committee of the Lebanese Future Movement, has recently been appointed as Vice-President of the International Federation for Liberal Youth. After Ms. Mirna Monimana and Mr. Rabei Fakher El Din, he is thus the third member of the Future Movement holding this position. Furthermore, the elections have resulted in the appointment of Mr. Christian Charlang as the Federation’s president; Mr. Friedrich Coman as its Secretary-General; and Mr. Daniel George as its treasurer.

The Moroccan Youth and Future Association recently acquired membership in the International Federation for Liberal Youth, thereby becoming its first Moroccan member. Its membership has been confirmed with a sweeping majority during the Federation’s General Assembly in Poland. This thus indicates the Federation’s serious desire to incorporate Arab liberal youth organizations in the future.   

In Tunisia, the government succeeding the Islamic Ennahda-Movement has officially been inaugurated by President Monsef El Marzouki, amidst the remaining ambiguity on the status of the new Minister for Tourism. As anticipated, the new government, which is chaired by Mahdi Gomaâ, was elected by absolute majority as from altogether 193 deputies 149 voted in favor, 20 against and 24 abstaining. The government is made-up of 21 ministers and 7 state ministers – three of which are women.